aaaaa to age

given fives typefaces to choose from, we selected three letters that appealed to us. then once again like in the a sketches, we put our own spin on the letterform after exploring the key features of each form. then applied it on a larger scale, approximately twenty-three by thirty inch paper with sharpie marker.

futura – A  // here I saw a rocket ship, interpreting the legs as flames. this form I repeated to create a complex, balanced composition

bodoni – g // with this letter I put a calligraphic feel to it. on the bottom half, the descender, I switched up the thick and thinner lines to bring the weight to the outside of the letterform instead of having a bold piece in the center. the large terminal in the original form brought a quirkiness to the letter which I wanted to bring to my design as well.

garamond – e // the e before seemed a bit plain compared to some of the other letterform in this particular typeface. I wanted to bring some of the characteristics of the other letters into this form. at the end of the cross stroke I incorporated the shape of most of the serifs seen on the other letters. when creating the bowl I wanted to emphasize the decrease in size by thinning out the stroke to the terminal. by accomplishing this it brought some of the elements of the garamond y into play.

Leave a Reply

